Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Youtube video editing critique please

Default Youtube video editing critique please

Hey guys,
    i was wondering if you could have a look and tell me what you think about the video editing.
    Its the first time ive ever done any and was wondering if it looks professional or not?

link below

I'm by no means an expert, but for me the thing that stood out was there was a hell of a lot of panning and zooming going on.

I know empty offices aren't the most visual of subjects and a pan shows the whole room, but for me it all seems a tad too much. Similarly with the outdoor shots.

Just my opinion BTW.

The message was clear and we got to see the place. The narration was clear and concise, and the music was about right for the subject for me, so on the whole a pretty good job I'd say (apart from the pans )

Surrey, UK
    Blog Entries

Gotta agree with M1M about the panning and zooms.

But I'd add dissolves to that. Straight cuts are far more professional. Traditionally dissolves are used to show the passing of time (though this is pretty passť now) or location. And, of course, in motages where you might want to go from a close up of a bunch of flowers to a bride and groom for example. But overuse between lots of interior or exterior office scenes just looks lazy.

It's also not generally good to cut from a moving shot to a still or vice versa. Let your pan/tilt come to a stop before cutting to a static (which would probably mean a re-shoot in this case).

The shots, both inside and out, are pretty good - they're mainly clear & well composed and I only noticed one that wasn't square.

There are a few problems though. The camera has clearly been left of auto-exposure which has some nasty effects - look at the windows and chairs around 42-45 seconds as the camera tries to work out an exposure (and settles for one where the comfortable reception chairs are woefully under-exposed).