Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Long term project and learning curve!

Default Long term project and learning curve!

Hi all, first of all I better introduce myself as this is my first post on this forum despite being a member for about a year!

Im 20 years old and based in Bristol and my main interest/hobby is filming however I am not experienced in the field in any way. I've never done a project of my own before, only ever helped out with some of my uncles work including various car DVDs and some documentaries.

Now I know some of the very basics in filming and apparently my filming work in terms of the shots I get has been said to be 'on form'! Yet I have mases to learn. I am looking to apply to the national school of film and television either this year or the following year to enhance my knowledge but to do so I have to provide them with a piece of work I have done.

This brings me on to the project I am working on!

Now I respect this may seem like I'm chucking myself in at the deep end but thats how I work most effectively. If I don't know something and I need to know I will go out my way to find out and with this project there is going to be a lot i don't know so in effect I should learn a lot!

Ok so what is it?! Basically I enjoy going on a lot of minibreaks such as minicruises and one of the most entertaining has been on P&O's 'Pride of Bilbao' which sails from Portsmouth to Bilbao and then back in 3 and a half days. Its a great, cheap getaway where you can meet a large variety of people and just get away from the uk for a while! Due to being on the ship an awful lot I have met and got to know people such as the cruise director, animal welfare officer, the nurse, various bar staff and last time even met the Captains daughter!!

Now because I want to do something that will have purpose I'm currently liaising with P&O about doing a promotional video for the pride of bilbao. Maybe a short 3-5 minute video showing what great fun the cruise is and so on.