Thread: Animated Film Distribution (Ltd Companies etc)

Default Animated Film Distribution (Ltd Companies etc)

Hi Folks

This is my first post, so please be gentle. Okay so I've been knocked out of the game for a while, I used to be a Researcher for a few years and through a tragic series of events I've ended up in various office jobs for the past 7 years so my knowledge/remembrance of how the biz works is a bit hazy. So here's where I'm at.

I bought a copy of Toon Boom Studio 4, and can produce some decent enough animation with it. I've developed an idea and characters, written a script, recorded the soundtrack and am preparing to make an animated feature (just over 60 mins).

Now eventually down the line I'm looking to get this out on DVD (no matter how small the label). Since this is something I'm doing myself, at home what steps would I need to take to do this? What I mean is, do I need to buy a limited company whilst I'm making this film, or could I make the film and copyright it under the limited company whilst trying to sell it on. It's just me doing the animating, voices etc (well my friend has kindly let me use his recording studio to do the soundtrack) so it wouldn't be a big company.

Any advice on this would be very much appreciated

Surrey, UK
    Blog Entries

I don't really understand why you're worried about forming a limited company for copyright purposes. From the moment you make the film you own the copyright. From the moment you draw the characters, you own the copyright.

If you want to protect your ideas - forget it. You can't copyright an idea.

If you really want to protect yourself against someone stealing your characters, I'd go and see a solicitor and get something drawn up showing that you'd created these images on such & such a date (it won't increase your "rights" but could be useful "proof" if ever you needed to challenge someone over breach of copyright.

Hi Tim