Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Yoga Videos & Chroma Key - Technical Help

Smile Yoga Videos & Chroma Key - Technical Help

I am new to video production, but I am looking to create a series of Yoga videos for online use. They would be sold online, after production which will include indexing of words used in the tutorial (using voice recognition). I have an instructor interested and I am addressing the issue of Chroma Key.

I want to place the instructor at a scenic location, such as a sunny beach, or on a mountain. Several professional Yoga DVD's are filmed that way, as it adds to the general feel of relaxation.

I understand how the wall can be a blue screen, but what about the floor? I am a little unclear how the floor could also be used to allow the new landscape video to be added.

I talked to a retailer when trying to buy the screens, but he said Chroma Key only worked for walls.

Yoga needs the floor to be filmed as many postures involve the floor, eg sitting on the floor.

Does anyone have any help on using Chroma Key to film Yoga (ie the whole person would need filming) and what equipment is best to buy? I googled the equipment side of this, and I got a huge amount of hardware and software information: too much to understand.

It only works on the wall? Never heard that one before, anywho, just get a much bigger cloth that you can hang on the wall and will also cover the floor. Light it correctly so you have no shadows, especially where the wall and floor meet. And also keep the talent as far away from the background as possible. Get yourself a mini dv camcorder (tape), good sold tripod, a few lights, an external mic possilby tie clip so it can be attached to the talents clothes to pick up what he/she is saying.