Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Canon XM1 audio problem

  1. #1

    Default Canon XM1 audio problem

    Hello all!

    I recently bought a second hand Canon XM1. It's all fine except for the built in microphone, which outputs a high pitched whistle constantly. If an external microphone is plugged in, the audio is fine.

    Is this an unfixable problem with the camera or is there something i can do about it? It doesn't hugely bother me as using an external microphone doesn't cause a problem, but it would be very handy to have the XM1s microphone also.

    Thanks,
    Nick

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Dont be offended - best to get those doh moments out of the way...

    You sure it isnt feedback to the phones or via the cameras speaker ( if it has one ).

  3. #3

    Default

    Well, the tone is a completely constant sound, and is the same when i try to isolate the mic with my hands, so i assume it's not to do with feedback.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    I see.

    Does sound like a fault then - go brain the vendor with it !

  5. #5

    Default

    Sorry for the necropost.

    The problem still occurs, but is only actually noticable in a no-noise environment. Here is a sample of the audio the camcorder records.



    The very left of the image is house ambience with me clicking my fingers.
    The middle of the image can be ignored.
    The right of the image is audio taken in the countryside.

    The left audio is absolutely dreadful with a tone carrying through it. The end of the recording shows an outside environment with background noise... the tone is not noticeable at all.

    The right audio is fine however, if the left chanel is cut off the audio sounds flawless. Is there any way to force a Canon XM1 to only record audio from the right channel? I imagine this is wishful thinking, but would save a lot of hassle in editing. It's a pain having to cut off the left channel of all the audio.

    Thanks in advance if anyone has any help!

  6. #6

    Default

    do you want to buy the camera? I want pieces from that?
    reply me for email giribi@hotmail.com

  7. #7

    Default

    Does it make any difference how the camera is powered? Pardon my ignorance, but can the camera be powered by either an external power supply OR by batteries?

    Is there any difference whether or not any 'automatic level adjustment' is turned on?

Similar Threads

  1. HELP - Canon XM2 recording problem
    By Hamilton in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 06-06-2014, 10:24 PM
  2. Final cut capture from Canon AHX1 - audio sync
    By tomsfamous in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-04-2007, 06:23 PM
  3. Canon GL2 Audio...
    By B. Brown in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-03-2007, 09:02 AM
  4. Canon Charger Problem
    By rankz in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-07-2006, 12:41 AM
  5. Capturing Audio From A Canon Xl1s w/seperate Audio 1,2?
    By Intwist in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-28-2005, 08:34 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •