Thread: help setting up an archiving system

Default help setting up an archiving system

I'm trying to digitize 1,000s of hours of VHS, miniDV, and 8mm onto hard drives. I need help setting up a system to do this. (I'm a total newb.) I have a few thoughts on how to go about it, but I'm open to other suggestions:

1.) I want to store the data as .mxf files. (I also want to be able to burn the data onto DVD occasionally, and I'm not sure if .mxf can do this.)
    2.) I'd like to be able to capture the source material directly into the hard drive (using a capture card?)
    3.) And finally I want to use non-proprietary software for organizing and editing.

And I have some other questions:
    1.) is it better to have 2 large hard drives (one for backup) that can fit everything, or several smaller ones?
    2.) I've heard of people having problems with "VHS wobble" and problems with audio/video sync when using capture cards. How to avoid these?
    3.) What kind of software will be non-proprietary, work on both Mac and PC (ideally), allow me to convert into .mfx, etc.?

Any help is very much appreciated.

S

Blog Entries

Why MXF? - I would use .avi.

Get a decent capture box - many pci cards that capture are poor.