Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Final cut express 4 or Vegas movie studio 9 platinum pro?

Post Final cut express 4 or Vegas movie studio 9 platinum pro?

I am filming promotional videos & documentaries, and have Final cut express 4 and Vegas movie studio 9 platinum pro.

I am only new to editing, I have used Vegas and found it easy to use, I have just bought a macbook pro and Final cut express 4.

My footage is in Hd 16:9 1080, filmed with a sony FX1, I also have footage from HD handycams that i would like to intergrate.

Vegas seems to be quite flexible in terms of the above and has better sound options?

I am wondering if any one can shed some light on the pro's and con's of these two programs?

And which is better?

Thanks for any feedback.

Blog Entries

Vegas - pc only.
    fcp - mac only.

If that matters to you. Running vegas thru boot camp works ok for most people.

If you are doing bread and butter work I would encourage you to go for the full versions of either program. Important tools like colour correction are often left out of budget versions.

Vegas is very tolerant of mixed media on time line and does indeed have very good sound tools.

I cant comment on fcp as macs give me a nasty little rash

I would never reccomend any laptop for editing. L tops are hugely compromised on speed and storage compared to same priced d top. Editing needs power so only go for a lap top if you have no other options.

And sitting in a coffee shop editing on a mac is not cool.... lols.

Thanks for your reply Mark.

This is my first go at putting something together so its not something i am relying on, at this stage, but if it looks like it has potential i will definetly upgrade to a d top and full version software.

Unfortunately i need the mobility of a laptop for my other business uses and will come in handy for the locations i will be filming in, remote Northern Australia, no coffee shops here. I have a 1TB external for storage at this stage.