Thread: Amateur wildlife photographer moves into video

Default Amateur wildlife photographer moves into video

Well like the title says I am an amateur photographer with an interest in wildlife (though sadly time constraints and inexperience on my part mean most of what I have is zoolife ) looking to make the jump into the video world. My intention is to head into primarily wildlife video work, however whilst I have some experience and understanding of digital photography, my understanding of video is very little - from both the technical and editing side through to the hardware side. Having little idea of what the different systems on the market do and how they compare to each other means that I am very much adrift in finding some gear.

At the moment I have my growing collection of photography lenses - Canon - as listed below and I have searched for a video camera which would let me use my existing gear rather than a whole new system - combining the two is my ideal aim (really helps cut down costs and carrying gear around!). So far I have had the Canon XL range of video cameras suggested, a quick look at thier prices shows them as being far out of reach for a long time (I recall one was in the 7000+ area though another was more reasonable in the 2500 area I think). Another suggested the older XL1s second hand on ebay and that seems to have a far more reachable price to it (1100+ area).
    I am not opposed to spending money on good gear, but I also have to factor in time - no point spending years saving for the top range camera and waste all that time missing experience and slowly draining money renting gear (or having to wait to borrow it).

However beyond price I have little that I can draw upon to compare the different cameras and what they truly offer me and how they will meet the requirements I ask of them - wildlife and working out doors with a limited weight aspect and mobility to also consider.