Thread: Buying first camcorder

Default Buying first camcorder

Hello everyone!

I studied Film Production Technology at university, and now i've graduated i'm looking to work on some videos to boost my portfolio. While i was at uni, i mainly focused on the post production side of things, so i'm a bit lost when it comes to camcorders. During my course i used Canon XL1s and XL2.

I'm now looking to buy a camcorder for myself, but i don't know where to start, really. Ideally i want the best value for money for under 500 (i'm only working part time at the moment). Buying a second hand camcorder is a very real possibility if it means i can get a better product.

I'm not worried about HD, but i'm ideally looking for the best value-for-money camcorder. If anyone can point me in the right direction to get started i'd be very grateful!

Western Europe

You say you want to work on some videos? Does this mean you have already made some videos or plan on making some? If you want to get into editing which I highly recommend then get yourself a mini dv camcorder, I'm slightly biased towards Panasonics and JVC's, but I will recommend Panasonics here. If you can find a 3 ccd model (as opposed to 1 ccd) with a manual focus ring, external microphone (essential for better sound recording) and headphone sockets then I would say look at it.