Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: which one? dv tape vhs, hd

Unhappy which one? dv tape vhs, hd

I'm just starting out and I have been reading your replys. Which is better and how do I tell one from the other. sd/ dv hd/ vhs etc? How do I know if a camera is tape or disk? Do'es the name tell me? Sorry to be dumb but I must know. Thanks guys Grant.

Blog Entries

The names / letters / numbers vary - you usually need to read the specs to be sure.

Nothing is vhs as that is old old.

DV - standard ( good normal tv pic ) resoloution, tapes, weel cheap, well good, easy to edit.

HDV - higher definition, tapes, cost more, well good, not so easy to edit - faster pc needed,

AVCHD - higher definition, records to a hard drive, very slow to edit - top of the range pc needed. Only advisable if you hate tapes and are unlikely to do much editing.

Avoid dvd cameras as thay can be flaky.

Cheap cameras, less than 100 that record to sd cards are toys for children.

Hope that helps.

Smile akai pv-c 100e

Thanks for the info on which tape v's cd etc, great. A mate has given me this akai to try. It has no battery (that's no problem) but no instruction book. It says in the tape cover HQ VHSC pal, are these tapes available and are they good for semi broadcast? Doe's the tape cover open when power is turned on?
    You blokes are terrific, thankyou!
    Grant

"VHSC pal, are these tapes available and are they good for semi broadcast?"... lol. Sorry I couldn't help but laugh at that, are you serious? VHS and VHS-C are old analogue video tapes, we are all using digital equipment now, yes you can still get those tapes but you cannot connect the camcorders up to a computer to edit the video you recorded without a lot of pissing about with cables and breakout boxes. Then it has to be converted to digital so it can be edited on the computer.

Thanks for that! What about beta? It's been suggested to me that beta is old but can be edited in digital.