Thread: tryingn to go for a scanner darkly look

1. Default tryingn to go for a scanner darkly look

i've been obsessing over the 'a scanner darkly' effect for the past few weeks. and to be honest, that is what got me into video editing. so my experience with video is about 2 weeks! since then i've learned basics of quicktime pro, and sony vegas pro.

otherwise, i'm just an amateur photographer, but it has lead me into video!

my first attempts at the effect were miserable. i simply used posterize filter, and the result was laughable. for my most recent effort (below), i spliced the video into images, and then using photoshop i applied a bunch of filters, i then batch processed the images, and then put them back into video. i then used sony vegas to do some final touches with contrast mainly.

i know its not perfect, but it is better than my previous attempts. and of course, most importantly, i took out the color, which was my only choice :(

i read about and also attempted to rotoscope frame by frame (which is why i decided to go for a very short test clip)... but after the second frame, i realized that i have a life since it took way too much time.

would love to know what you think about the scanner darkly mimic, and would be open to any advice or tips you could give me for my next attempt, thx!

Watch HD Videos Online - test

Bristol uk
    Blog Entries

Lols - rivetting video.

I like the look you have creted but it isnt the same.

I actually turned the film off cos I hated the fake cartoon look - and I love the original story.

I havent checked but I am gussing the work was partly automated but that much of it was frame by frame work by skilled people.

I still tried to copy it - tried edge detect, median, and a few other things - untill it danwed on me I wasnt that clever - lols.

3. Default