Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Which software to get?

Default Which software to get?

Hi everybody!

I am just starting out with video editing. What I want to do is edit pieces of existing movies, an example of which would be something like this combination of once upon a time in the west and arcades fire's my body is a cage

What would be the best tool for this kind of video editing? Also, if I want to rip one of my dvd's, what would be the best program to use and what video format would be the best for further editing on my computer?

I am considering to buy an adobe student package where among other things I will get premiere pro. Good choice?

ole

premier is a very powerful video editing solution and you shouldn't come across any problems. there are quite a few topic around this forum now explaing how to rip dvds.

Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by smifis View Post
    ..there are quite a few topic around this forum now explaing how to rip dvds.
    If there is, they should have been removed. This site takes a dim view of ripping off material and strongly enourages filming of your own material.

Nothing intrinsically wrong with premier especially for just home stuff .... but If you're looking to develop into a professional editor making tv and the like you should consider a freebie-type version of final cut or avid - something like Avid express or FCP express... simply on the grounds that those bits of software are most extensively used in the broadcast industry and learning them is a good career move.

premiere is fine for professional productions. after all it's not the the program, it's the editer behind it.

Final Cut or Avid are no big deal, Adobe Premiere can hold it's own when it come to producing video for either home viewing or for broadcast tv. Let me guess you're a Mac fan?

Default Further thoughts..