Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Markers/chapters

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Err - Northamptonshire?
    Posts
    672

    Default Markers/chapters

    In an attempt to get chapters into my DVD - so I could 'fast forward' to the next scene - I thought I'd put markers into the project. However, playing back on the DVD player didn't give me what I was expecting - in fact, it didn't give me anything. Any ideas what I did wrong? I just dragged the little pointer thingy that's located top left corner of the timeline to various points along the timeline - but I guess that's not how you do it...
    Premiere Pro, Encore, Photoshop, Ulead VS6, WXP Pro, Core 2 Duo, 2GB, 2 x 250GB SATA3 drives, 2 x 250GB USB 2 external drive, DVD writer, GeForce 7300 GS 256MB

    The biggest fool can ask questions that the wisest man cannot answer...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Never created DVDs in Premiere. I'll take a look at the manual tonight

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Err - Northamptonshire?
    Posts
    672

    Default

    Thanks Marc. I was looking at the Help file, but it seemed hugely complex for what should have been a simple job. As seems often to be the way with Premiere, there's a zillion ways of skinning the cat. First, though, you have to catch your cat...
    Premiere Pro, Encore, Photoshop, Ulead VS6, WXP Pro, Core 2 Duo, 2GB, 2 x 250GB SATA3 drives, 2 x 250GB USB 2 external drive, DVD writer, GeForce 7300 GS 256MB

    The biggest fool can ask questions that the wisest man cannot answer...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,191

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Marc Peters
    I'll take a look at the manual tonight
    You mean you don't carry one around with you in your utility belt in case of emergencies?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Err - Northamptonshire?
    Posts
    672

    Default

    Is it a bird? Is it a plane?? No! It's - gasp - Video Editing Man!!
    Premiere Pro, Encore, Photoshop, Ulead VS6, WXP Pro, Core 2 Duo, 2GB, 2 x 250GB SATA3 drives, 2 x 250GB USB 2 external drive, DVD writer, GeForce 7300 GS 256MB

    The biggest fool can ask questions that the wisest man cannot answer...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Err - Northamptonshire?
    Posts
    672

    Default

    Can anyone help on this? My wife is out all day Sunday, and while the cat's away...
    Premiere Pro, Encore, Photoshop, Ulead VS6, WXP Pro, Core 2 Duo, 2GB, 2 x 250GB SATA3 drives, 2 x 250GB USB 2 external drive, DVD writer, GeForce 7300 GS 256MB

    The biggest fool can ask questions that the wisest man cannot answer...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,191

    Default

    Ian, like Marc, I've not tried to make any DVDs from within Premiere. A quick search reveals this

    http://dv411.com/premierepro.html

    and if you search fro the word 'chapter' on this page you find the passage that says...

    Users can export Adobe Premiere Pro projects as MPEG2 or AVI files with chapter markers, which will be converted into chapter points by Adobe Encore DVD
    This to me, implies that the markers you are creating are only being interpreted by Encore (via MPEG2 exporting) for DVD creation and not within Premiere itself. Arguably a bit of a failing if you ask me.

    Assuming this to be the case and you are intending to push out your disk while 'the boss' is away then I propose you download and install the trial version of Encore.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,191

    Default

    Ok Ian, got it now.

    Page 296 of the Premier Pro manual states that the 'export to DVD' function has a n option called 'Chapter Points at' whcih says

    Chapter Points At Select to automatically generate DVD chapter markers at timeline marekers. Although you can;t create chapter menus... this option allows a DVD controller tonavigate using the chapter button.
    So my guess is you must have forgot to check the box in the 'Genaral' page of the MPEG encoder options dialogue.

    Unless of course, you did all this and it just didn't work. :(

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Err - Northamptonshire?
    Posts
    672

    Default

    Many thanks Millsy. I definitely didn't check that tab, so that must be the problem. I'd been hoping to take a look tomorrow but I feel house rules are being changed behind my back. Someone muttered the dread words 'Christmas shopping'...
    Premiere Pro, Encore, Photoshop, Ulead VS6, WXP Pro, Core 2 Duo, 2GB, 2 x 250GB SATA3 drives, 2 x 250GB USB 2 external drive, DVD writer, GeForce 7300 GS 256MB

    The biggest fool can ask questions that the wisest man cannot answer...

Similar Threads

  1. Exporting to Encore w/ DVD Markers?
    By dessstro in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-13-2006, 02:10 AM
  2. can I insert chapters?
    By thewoolly in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-14-2006, 02:09 AM
  3. Chapters
    By Drebin in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-09-2006, 12:22 PM
  4. Extracting chapters
    By Shock in forum Blu Ray, DVD, SVCD and VCD authoring
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-14-2004, 01:37 PM
  5. Help inserting chapter markers using Mac
    By mlankton in forum Blu Ray, DVD, SVCD and VCD authoring
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-24-2004, 03:03 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •