Thread: Is it possible to integrate two HD recordings on one screen?

Question Is it possible to integrate two HD recordings on one screen?

Hi all,

I am a professional driving instructor trainer and am planning to create some training DVDís. I am looking to create an in-car setup which can record from 2-3 sources at High Definition (or as near as possible to it) with excellent sound recording.

We were originally planning on getting a 3 cam setup comprising of a Chasecam PDR100 solid-state recorder, 3 x Sony HQ1 bullet cameras, external mic, lcd monitor and quad processor. However, with the latest HD camcorder developments, we figured it may be possible to get much better quality from two separate HD camcorder sources.

I am on the verge of purchasing a Panasonic HDC-TM300, mainly for home use, but hopefully can be one of the cameras used for this setup. I would then look at buying another one or two (cheaper) HD cameras for the other views.

My main questions are:

1. Is it possible to use two or three HD camcorders and integrate the recordings on my PC so that I have picture-in-picture recorded to one source, i.e. one of the recordings full screen and smaller screens in the bottom left & right corners of the second and third recordings?

2. Is synchronisation easy to achieve in this respect, or will I need a quad processor? I don't want any lip sync issues.

I have access to Adobe Premiere Pro CS4 - will this do the job?

Any ideas or advice would be GREATLY appreciated!