Thread: process of a video editor?

Default process of a video editor?

hello there, nice to be part of the forum as you can tell im a newbie and i was wondering what is the process to becoming a video editor as a career because i found my self making this video the other day and a coupel of people have pretty much said well done thats good so i thought i would just broaden my career horizons and consider this as a career, im currently a student on a uniformed services course so i still have a bit of choice left as to what career path to take but any way take a look, maybe its not as good as ive been told but id just like some knowledge of how the process works thanks.

Hi Ryan,

Someone else asked a similar question a while ago , and here's my reply to them. They were asking more about Macs, but I think this is relevant, and some good info in there.

A while ago, I was considering getting my own Mac and FCP to try and do some video editing work, so I asked a couple of people I know - one of which teaches FCP and another who works as a freelancer for various TV channels and uses Avid as well as FCP. They're interesting points about getting a job as a video editor. I've starred out bits that are personal/private:

I think it'd be quite difficult to make a living editing from home from the start off as it takes time to build-up a client base. In fact to be honest I think being freelance initially might be a struggle for the same reason. People tend to hire people they've worked with before, and so it might be more prudent to look for a staff position to get you going. But that could help you move into the sector, as the vast majority of staff positions are in the corporate/shortform video sector - and many of these companies now like people who can do a bit of everything, i.e. video, web, flash, graphics etc.