Thread: Canon MD205 or MD235?

Default Canon MD205 or MD235?

Hi,

I'm a camcorder newbie looking to pick up my first model. Why? To begin with I'd just like to capture birthdays, the kids, holidays and the like - Might move on to more challenging tasks later!

I know there have been some similar questions recently regarding hardware purchases, but I was wondering if people could help with some specifics. I'm not having much luck finding a good reviews site so I'm hoping those in the know could help!

First, media wise, from what I've read MiniDV is the best format for quality and price when it comes to SD Cameras - I've also read that it's best for editing. Is this true?

Based on that I was looking at the Canon MD235 as it has a Microphone Input (which seems to be quite scarce in the lower price models). I've noticed Canon also have an MD205, which is about 25% cheaper.

The MD235 has a higher optical zoom (37x compared to 32x) and a higher resolution (1.07 megapixels compared to 0. - Do people feel such an increase warrants the additional 25% cost? I've some experience with Digital SLRs so I know numbers can be misleading sometimes.

Was going to pick up a copy of Premiere Elements for editing afterwards, partly because I need a copy of PhotoShop Elements also and they're bundled - I've a reasonably well specced PC (with Firewire connection). I'm deviating from the hardware question slightly but is Permiere Elements a good starting package?

I know some things come down to personal preference - I'm interested in people's opinions though.

Thanks in advance,
    Boysey

Blog Entries

About DV - all true. Ease of editing is part of the reason I love DV over HDV.

Get the mic input - essential for film making.

Ignor pixel count - almost irrlelveant and other factors swamp this.