Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Where is codec H.263?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Jerusalem, Israel
    Posts
    9

    Default Where is codec H.264?

    I do not see an option to render in vegas 8 pro in H.264 . There is an option of H.263. Is rendering in quicktime 7 automatically H.264? Do I need to down load a codec. I already have on my machine quicktime pro.
    Last edited by ravmitterhoff; 04-05-2009 at 03:52 PM. Reason: mistake

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Have you got a option to render as ' Main Concept AVC/AAC ' ? That is h264.

    Re: Vegas Pro 8 and h.264 : Sony Vegas

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Jerusalem, Israel
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Yes but I want to produce a mov quicktime 7 file. Under quicktime/advanced/video format there is an option for MPEG-4. Is that h.264?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    QuickTime - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

    Codec - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

    Complicated aint it....

    Why the 264 obesssion ?

    Just use the mov container with one of the avaialbe codecs.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Jerusalem, Israel
    Posts
    9

    Default

    I want to use the recommended Settings for Blip.tv below. Is it possible to do that in Vegas 8?

    Recommended Settings Blip.tv
    Because QuickTime works on PCs and Macs, and makes videos that play in iTunes Music Store and Apple TV, we recommend it for your original upload. Your mileage may vary. Talk to your friends about what they're using. Email us if you've got better settings!
    QuickTime Settings for PC and Mac

    * Format = QuickTime
    If you're on a PC, download the free QuickTime and then go "Pro" for about $30. On a Mac, use Final Cut Pro or the free iMovie, which uses QuickTime Pro to export.
    * Extension = .mov
    .mov exports allow for a high degree of control over the quality of your upload, and make your original upload compatible and in higher resolution for display using iTunes and/or Apple TV. Check the presets in the latest QuickTime Pro. They often have what you're looking for already defined.
    * Size = 640 pixels wide. Height depends on your favored aspect ratio. 16:9 = 640x360. 4:3=640x480. We recommend 16:9 if you can.
    * CODEC = h.264 baby!
    * Data rate: 1500 to 2.000 (Mbps). The higher, the better.
    * Audio = AAC audio, 48kHz. Render settings = Best. Target bit rate = 128+. Mono or stereo depending on mic used to record.
    * Key frame interval = < 24 K.F., or auto. Lower is better. Key frames are frames per second that the CODEC uses as samples of the kind of video it is compressing.
    * Fast Start: On. If you don't select "Fast Start" QuickTime movies won't play until the entire file downloads.
    * Frame rate: Current.
    * Frame Controls: Off.
    * Multi-pass: On.
    * Frame reorder: On.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Point of information.
    QT only works properly if you PAY on PC - that is shit and daft.

    Appears to be your corner and your paint....

    Just use 263, or cant you use wmv - that player for macs is available for FREE from m soft - NB MAC - FREE.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Jerusalem, Israel
    Posts
    9

    Default

    I already have quicktime pro. What's the difference between 263 and 264? (1, right? )

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Lols - well alledgedly it is better - I havent compared them tbh.

    For my clock cycles wmv is best - but I realise you are trying to get close to thier suggested strategy.

Similar Threads

  1. avi codec
    By Ron Bakker in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-01-2008, 11:57 AM
  2. What codec
    By jack3216 in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-28-2006, 01:57 AM
  3. Codec to use for HD?
    By GrandMasterKaja in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-23-2005, 04:09 PM
  4. DIV X Codec
    By Chris in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-03-2004, 02:56 AM
  5. Best Codec to use???
    By pschmidt in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-10-2004, 02:22 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •