Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: recording live video with a webcam

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    W Surrey, England
    Posts
    109

    Default recording live video with a webcam

    I have a friend who wants to record video of himself playing his guitar to post the result on an enthusiast website, but he only has a webcam. He runs XP and so has MM2, and also has Pinnacle Studio 9. He has just asked this question -

    "after visiting Pinnacle site forums it now appears that Studio 9 will not handle live video but only pre-recorded video - Windows Movie Maker does the job but limits audio capture to the cameras onboard microphone which picks up every tummy rumble - so the question is, is there any software out there similar to WMM but that allows audio capture from a soundcard?"

    He means he wants to plug the guitar directly into the soundcard, the same way as most people on that web site record self played audio to post. (At least, generally it goes through echo units etc, then the lead that would normally go to an amp to hear in the room, or headphones, goes instead into the soundcard.)

    Can anyone help?

    Gillian
    Win XP, Athlon 1.8, G force 3 T, 1 60gig drive + 1 250 gig, Pinnacle Studio 9 plus mostly, Premiere 6, and Vegas 5 sometimes, Soundforge, Cool Edit.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Why not plug the guitar into the mic of the cam?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    766

    Default

    Because it doesn't have a mic socket, only a crappy mic buiilt in.

    IUvcr will let you do what you're after.
    AMD Athlon 1700 (@2200mhz from 1466 sod the noise!) - 768mb pc3200 - 200GB Maxtor - Pioneer 106 - GF4 Ti4200 - twinhan/visionplus pci dvb-t - random pci analogue tv tuner - A7v600-x (to replace the a7n8x-d that died...) - random 17\" CRT
    Sony STR-DE425 & Eltax c205s;
    xBox w/20GB HDD- executer 2.3b;
    xBox - standard;
    Konica/Minolta dimage z10 w/2x512mb SD;
    iRiver h340;
    A silly amount of Cat-5 and usb cables

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mrlipring
    Because it doesn't have a mic socket, only a crappy mic buiilt in
    That'll be me not reading posts properly as usual.

Similar Threads

  1. setting up live video capture on pc (a la macbook)
    By spherop in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-27-2011, 12:18 AM
  2. Live Video Editing
    By skirtyau in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-26-2006, 10:21 PM
  3. Video & live music gigs Sony fx1
    By JohnnyH in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-11-2006, 10:35 PM
  4. Planning and recording a live band performance
    By Rav33n in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-18-2006, 04:21 PM
  5. Live video projection - what software?
    By totallyinept in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-29-2004, 06:31 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •