Thread: Wireless roaming mic options - assistance required

Question Wireless roaming mic options - assistance required

My brother has asked me to help him produce some video footage for his business. Don't worry, he'd not making his own awful adverts, he's actually an historian and ghost / tour guide and having built a good business he's frequently asked whether he has a DVD. Until now the answer has always been no... hence me becoming involved.

My background is in radio broadcast and video is an entirely different, exciting, but very daunting step.

Indoors we are fine. I've got him some excellent wireless AKG microphones that clip on so they cannot be seen. I've also got a couple of superb Rode microphones for anything off camera, voice overs etc.

With a radio background I am more familiar with hand held microphones. I'm employing an HHB digital recorder and a variety of XLR mics for field work also, but the problem is I am now using video and want the microphones to be hidden.

Short of roping more family members (my wife and kids) into the project, we need to find a wireless option.

I asked at the best pro-audio place I know locally and they couldn't help me so hopefully someone here can.

I need a clip on, wireless mic that can be used in the field without access to mains voltage. It would need to work in conjunction with a Canon XL1s. Does a battery powered wireless unit exist?
    I think we are going to need a bigger boat

A Lavalier Microphone would be your best bet, their small and clip on and easily hidden.. what you'll have is a wire that can go down the shirt leading to a body pack.. the signal is then transmited to your reciever. There are plenty of types and sizes. If you do a search you'll find plenty of options
    Wil

Software Used:
    TGV Edius 6, TGV ProCoder 3, DVD Lab Pro. 2

http://www.youtube.com/user/ChapmanProduction

Hi,