Thread: Potential issues with Canon XL1s & MA-200 4 x XLR input

Question Potential issues with Canon XL1s & MA-200 4 x XLR input

My first post here, so be gentle folks!

My background is working in audio, so when offered the opportunity to produce some short footage for my brother's business I was initially reluctant. He purchased some second-hand equipment, handed it over and said 'Get going!'

So, here I am...

I have a Canon XL1s and a Canon MA-200, which are causing me some trouble.

The supplied & attached microphone mounted on the XL1s is picking up every knock, zoom motor whirr and button press. It is poorly isolated from the chassis and I am not impressed.

So, an MA-200 was purchased, but the seller has never actually used it, so consider it spares / repair.

I plug it in, I go through the menu selection from MIC to LINE IN, I open up the Audio door to the rear of the camera, turn up the line level and flick the switch from MIC to Audio 1 and then I stumble across issues. I cannot for the life of me get any audio into the camera.

Listening through headphones I can hear a crackle as I plug the MA-200 in, so there is power, but that's about it. No matter what microphone I try, whether phantom power is applied or not I am getting nothing more than the faintest of whimpers from some rock solid, reliable AKG & Rode mics. I've got a selection I've tried in each of the 4 XLR inputs to the rear of the unit.

Despite checking Canon's website I cannot find a PDF manual or any instructions on the MA-200 to be confident that it's not an end user issue.

I would very much appreciate some advice from anyone who'd previously used the MA-200 and can explain to me where I might be going wrong.

Thanks in advance.
    Last edited by Parris; 03-31-2009 at 12:21 AM.
    I think we are going to need a bigger boat