Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Loosing quality when rendering Canon SD950 IS High Definition .avi files, please help

  1. #1

    Question Loosing quality when rendering Canon SD950 IS High Definition .avi files, please help

    This forum has been so helpful in so many ways. Thanks to all for that.

    Please help me if you can, I am relatively new to Sony Vegas and I just can not figure out what I am doing wrong.

    I have Vegas Movie Studio Platinum, Version 9.0b (Build 92).

    I have made many High Definition video recordings on my Canon SD950 IS, and they look fantastic when upload them onto my PC and open them in Windows Media or Quicktime (all with current versions).

    I am looking to render them with the greatest possible quality settings and eventually load them up onto the Internet.

    Yet when I load them into Sony Vegas, edit them, and render them, Sony Vegas doesn't seem to have the ability to render them without loosing significant quality. I have "tested" small clip rendering for every format Sony Vegas offers, and there isn't a single option, it seems, to render these SD950 .AVI files without loosing serious quality. I;ve noticed that I cannot get the HD 1080-24p-YUV renders to open, even this output most closely matches the original recording specifications.

    The Canon Powershot SD950 IS 12.1MP records in a HD .AVI format at 1024x786, with 15 fps and Data rate of 15599kbps for Video.

    Also, I have a Dell Vostro 1500, Intel(r) Core(TM) 2 Duo CPU, T7500 @ 2.20 Ghz, 2.19 GHz 3.00 GB of RAM, with plenty (for now) of disk space (over 1OO Gb left)...

    Please, can somebody help me??? I will get a far better camera, but I don't want to loose these AVI files!!!

    THanks so much in advance for any suggestions!

  2. #2

    Default Also I maintain pixel ratios, etc.

    I also make sure the HD .AVI files stay at the pixel ratio in which they were record.

    From each movie file I see:
    Stream: Video 1
    Attributes:1024x786x24
    Format: Sony Motion JPEG

    Field order: NONE (progresive scan)
    Pixel Aspect: 1.00000 Square
    Alpha Channel: NONE
    Rotation: 0 degrees.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    I suspect some of the render options are disabled in the ' lite ' version of vegas.

Similar Threads

  1. High definition and Premiere Elements
    By Jeffrey in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-31-2008, 06:09 PM
  2. High Definition Camera and Water Housing
    By TheWakePlace.com in forum Ebay and other classified ads: gear, cameras and video editing stuff
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-14-2008, 09:38 AM
  3. High Quality Rendering
    By zap805 in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-28-2006, 08:28 PM
  4. Adobe premier pro 1.5 & high definition capture
    By JohnnyH in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-10-2006, 08:18 PM
  5. international high definition demo swap.
    By Wolfie! in forum Forum Announcements and News
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-28-2004, 04:08 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •