Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Buying Advise on Sony Vegas for a newbie

Question Buying Advise on Sony Vegas for a newbie

Hi,

I'm very new to video editing, still not familliar with all the terminology etc. I am wondering if either Sony Vegas Movie Studio 8 Platinum Edition or Sony Vegas Movie Studio 9 would be a good video editor for me ?

So far I've only used windows movie maker, which kept crashing on me, and a trial of cyberlink power director which I found fairly easy with help from online tutorials but wasn't totally happy with some things about it. I've heard sony vegas is extremely complex and difficult to learn, and this makes me worry if I'd have the patience and time to master it.

I want to be able to produce videos for youtube, ones made from editing movie clips together, adding effects and music etc, just for fun and my own pleasure. I don't own a camcorder, though perhaps I might get one sometime. Would sony vegas be a good choice for me ? My maximum budget is 35, both the versions listed above are within my budget on amazon.

My major gripe with powerdirector was that it wasn't so easy to quickly build a collection of movie clips and save that collection as in movie maker. For example clips could only be split once unless I moved them to the storyboard, and then they could not be moved from storyboard back into main work area, so there was no way to easily save them for future use. I was wondering if Sony Vegas is the same ? I am also attracted by the amount of things sony vegas can do, movie maker was rather limited, and I never want to use it again ever after the amount of crashing I endured.

I'd also need an editor which is easy for someone with some eyesight problems to use, where I can enlarge the video window when splitting clips etc so I can easily see. I don't need a huge window, but I don't want a tiny window either.