Thread: complete newbie to video editing - help!

Default complete newbie to video editing - help!

I have some old VHS shows of my friends' band that I have burned to DVD. I have finalized the discs and have watched them on a regular DVD player. They play just fine, but the audio and video is off just enough to annoy people. I have downloaded AVS Video Editor and AVS Video Converter and just don't get how to use it. I would like to make sure this trial version will do what I need it to do (I also want to create chapters of each song) before I plunk down my hard earned money to buy the full version.

Is anyone familiar enough with this software or maybe someone can recommend some other software that is more user friendly? I have also tried the Windows Movie Maker software that came pre-loaded on my laptop, but can't get past the audio/video sync issue to move forward.

Heres the catch.. Anyone here that'll will recomend software will recomend the one they use.. So I'll say this.. Go to sony's website and download the vegas or vegas studio software (free trial) and do the same at the adobe site and get premier pro or eliments and see what you like... Personaly I've used both and prefer Vegas others prefer premier.. its all a matter of what you like... As far as AVS goes I never used it so I cant help there.. good luck
    Wil

Software Used:
    TGV Edius 6, TGV ProCoder 3, DVD Lab Pro. 2

http://www.youtube.com/user/ChapmanProduction

For what you are doing Premiere 6 would do fine you might be able to pick it up cheap, I always used it for DV editing, I then set the interleave to 1 frame to lock the audio and video together I found if I left it to the default it caused problems getting out of sync.