Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Sony FX1 and Uncompressed Footage

  1. #1

    Default Sony FX1 and Uncompressed Footage

    Hi there,
    Is there a way to get uncompressed HD footage from my FX1? What would I need to do that?
    I'm recording talking head video against a green screen and would like to avoid the HDV compression artifacts.
    Thanks.
    ( spammy looking link removed - mw )
    Last edited by Mark W; 04-02-2009 at 05:42 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Nope - cant be done. And it wouldnt help much.

    HDV is fine to key on, so is DV - good lighting is the trick.

  3. #3

    Default

    Mark,
    Are you sure? What abour component and a suitable capture card?
    HDV is way too compressed for a really good key!
    Chummy
    PS What's wrong with my link?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    " What abour component and a suitable capture card? "

    Lost me totally I am afraid - given that hdv is a digital medium and capture is thru f wire...

    As for the other question - Forum spam - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

    If you think that is harsh - if we were not harsh there wouldnt be forum - just a mess of spam.

    Sig links are fine but not just for commercial resons as yours clearly was.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ENGLAND!
    Posts
    774

    Default

    the only way to get uncompressed hd from an hdv camera is by an direct link using sdi (i think that's whats its called) or componant and maaybe firewire at 720p, have the check that, into a capture deck on location, fine for studios etc but its not worth the hassel. when you record something it is converted there and then into the hdv codec so you can get uncompressed hd footage from hdv footage. sorry

  6. #6

    Default uncompressed video

    I seem to have read somewhere that if one outputs one's video from a HDV cam via HDMI to a Matrox Mini, which them outputs 9also with HDMI) to the card supplied by Matrox, in your PC-then one would have uncompressed video.Or am I talking rubbish?

Similar Threads

  1. Problems with sony ex 1 footage
    By petehibbit in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-20-2008, 03:46 PM
  2. Sony Z1 Footage Problems
    By primers in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-11-2008, 03:07 PM
  3. Uncompressed AVI to Tape.
    By conehillbus in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-04-2007, 09:08 AM
  4. SONY vx1000 footage clip
    By gallantry88 in forum User Videos
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-06-2007, 06:27 AM
  5. Recording Sony PSP Game Footage
    By TypeOne in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 01-03-2007, 09:06 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •