Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Analogue Capture Newbie

  1. #1

    Default Analogue Capture Newbie

    I can just imagine the yawning and scrathching this topic must cause but this is my first post and first flurry into video editing so please stick with me. I have clicked on various links and googled etc but I'm still in need of some friendly advice.

    I'd like to capture my old video 8 tapes and edit them on my PC.

    1. Sounds like people favour firewire, correct?
    2. I like the sound of Premier Elements, good for a beginner yes?
    3. I'd like to spend less that 200,
    4. Ultimately I would put my edited (previously) video 8 onto DVD
    5. Also, i'd upload stuff to the net

    Can you advise/ point me at a similar discussion on the forum/ give me your thoughts.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Is the camera hi 8 analogue or hi 8 digital - what is model of camera ?

  3. #3

    Default

    hi,

    it's hi 8 analogue, i got it circa 1995, i think it's sony handycam.

  4. #4

    Default

    i'm thinking the Canopus ADVC55 AV Digitiser is a good bet. Anyone recommend a similar alternative?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    I have not used that but i was going to suggest it.

    Also considor getting a used old dv camera with analog video in.

  6. #6

    Default

    "buy old dv camera with analogue in?"

    i'm guessing that would mean i could transfer my analogue to the dv camera and from there transfer to my pc?

    not that i'm looking for reasons to spend money but you say buy an 'old' dv camera, would a new one also have this capability?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Only a minority of cameras can do this. An old camera is just as good for this purpose as a new one.
    There is a list somewhere on the forum - will post a link if you cant see it and are interested.

  8. #8

    Default

    thanks for your help,

    my garage tells me my car needs 600 worth of work so may have to pause the ol' video plans for a while.

    sigh

Similar Threads

  1. Analogue Capture in Premier Pro?
    By Chris Oakley in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-15-2005, 03:24 PM
  2. Capture from analogue VHS recorder?
    By Gremlin in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-08-2005, 03:50 PM
  3. Capture Analogue via Break Out
    By colonelkaye in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-25-2004, 02:34 PM
  4. Analogue Capture settings
    By chrislo in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-26-2004, 10:25 AM
  5. analogue capture with adobe
    By teal.blue.n.silver in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-05-2003, 10:16 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •