Thread: Hd Cam to PC- Easiest Software Path

Default Hd Cam to PC- Easiest Software Path

Hi, i recently started making and editing videos. I use a Canon Vixia HG20 which, when directly ripped to my PC, arrive in the .m2ts format. I'm a relative newbie at this, so i was wondering this: What is the path of least resistance to convert these HD quality m2ts files into a more usable format that can be used in VisionLab (which i use to add FX)? Also, what editing program is best paired with VisionLab for this process? (im willing to try any program) If you could try to explain the easiest way for me to convert and edit the HD video in these programs, id much appreciate it

P.S. I've tried using both streamclip and super c to change the format from m2ts to avi but both get a cannot read format (DirectShow) error when being imported into VisionLab. There must be a smoother way to do this, using visionlab, an editor, and a converter. help please
    Last edited by yawny; 03-04-2009 at 01:36 AM.

Any of the major players in the consumer level video editing software market currently will be able to either handle the files as is or will automatically transcode from transport stream to program stream upon import.

As far as compatibility goes with your existing program I have no idea!

Check the specs on Sony Vegas, Cyberlink Power Director 7, Corel VideoStudio Pro X2, Adobe premier Elements 7, Pinnacle Studio 12 Ultimate...ummm...errr that's all I can think of at the moment.

i suppose what i'm really asking is if there is an easy, one step converter from .m2ts to avi. i import with imagemixer and use that to convert to mpeg4 but then i have to convert again to avi. by the time the footage makes it into Visionlab, it looks like a crappy webacm. im using power director or pinnacle for my editing.

Is avi even a valid HD format? i want to keep the HD quality but Visionlab can only use certain formats, what should i convert to and with what?

Hi yawny,