Thread: DVD ripping/editing in Vegas, for YouTube. Several problems.

Default DVD ripping/editing in Vegas, for YouTube. Several problems.

Hello everyone! I found this forum via Yahoo.

I am experiencing loads of problems with editing some video and I was hoping to find help here. I searched through this particular forum for some answers, but nothing seemed to really fit my situation. First of all, I am a complete beginner in the world of editing video. I have made a couple of videos from scratch, but I am in 100% uncharted waters here. I will try to explain my troubles in as much detail as I can.
    If you have ever seen the infamous YouTube video of the "short version" of The Big Lebowski (nsfw video if you go to look it up now - nothing but f-bombs), this is basically what I want to accomplish, minus all the cussing.

What I am trying to do:
    I am trying to edit DVDs of a tv show. I'm trying to take many small clips from the show and mix them down to one video compilation.

What I am using:
    I am ripping the DVDs to my hard drive using the program DVD Shrink 3.2. My video editing program is a full, licensed version of Sony Vegas Pro 8.0

My problems:
    There are several. I will itemize them and provide as much detail as possible.

1) After ripping, there are many files in the Video_TS folder. The extensions used from the rip are .BUP, .IFO, and .VOB. The only files that seem to contain the actual episode video/audio are the .VOB file.

2) There are 4 episodes on each disc. The first episode is the only video/audio file that seems to start and stop at the beginning and end of the episode. The other three episodes are mixed up in one another. Some do not have beginnings and some have no endings. Some, both problems.

3) I have tried ripping both compressed and uncompressed. Same problems.