Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: A few proper newbie questions ...

Default A few proper newbie questions ...

Ok, well the first thing that I have to admit is that I'm very new to this. I've only filmed some clips using a little camera attachment that I've currently got for my jukebox, but I had so much fun editing it that I'm thinking about taking this further. That and the fact that I've got a few friends who would like some recording doing for various reasons.

Anyway, on to the point of the e-mail. I've been browsing the forums trying to get an overall feel for this, and I've got a couple of questions to ask:

1. What's a CCD camera? What does CCD stand for and why is it so good?

2. What are the advantages of having an analog input on your camera? Somebody was advised to make sure that their new camera had an analog port on it, but I would have thought in a digital age, that anolog ports might have been past it now

3. I noticed in one post, that someone suggests that you should "always use firewire" when transferring your footage across to your computer for editing. Is Firewire just a cable or do I need to buy a firewire "port" for my machine? And if so, are they expensive?

4. What is interlacing? While recoding a few clips, I've had the option to turn interlacing on or off. How does it affect the quality of a clip ... and the file size?

And that's about it really. Sorry if some of the questions seem rather basic. I'll get the hang of all this in the end

Thanks,

Morty
    Pentium 4 3.2GHz - 2x512MB RAM - 120GB Hard Drive - Plextor PX-712A 12x4x DVDRW - Sapphire ATI Radeon 9800 Pro Ultimate 256MB - Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 - Adobe Premiere Pro, Encore(v1) and Audition (v1.5)

Default Re: A few proper newbie questions ...

Quote Originally Posted by MortimerJazz
    1. What's a CCD camera? What does CCD stand for and why is it so good?