Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: AirVenture

Default AirVenture

Hello all ... I am not new to home video editing, but I am new to blogs. I just started a blog at cowygr8 | home movies ... turn video footage into exciting home movies. and have some of my own home movies loaded there. Here is one that I would like to submit to this forum (for review - yikes):

http://www.cowygr8.com/wordpress/vid...re_cowygr8.wmv

Blog Entries

What is the point of this video? It's not clear. A film should have some sense of purpose, be that telling a story, a record of events, promoting something, making an argument for or against something,whatever, but this is a collection of clips which apart from the fact they're something to do with aviation seem to have little in common or to keep the viewers' interest (even the keenest aviation fan)

It's quite possible that simply a title or a few captions would make the purpose clear, but we don't know! I'm sure it's obvious to you as you've no doubt spent countless hours collecting and editing together these clips.

And I've just had a quick look at your blog. I suggest you take cover. I hope the aim of your blog is just free advice.

Asking as an amatuer how you can improve your home movies will gain you plenty of friendly advice here. But if you're trying to set yourself up as a business you'll need to be a LOT better. The professionals (of whom there are quite a few here) quite rightly get very upset when anyone offers sub-standard work as it tarnishes the industry as a whole.

And I trust you've got clearance for the copyright music.
    Tim

Blog Entries

Thanks for posting and welcome to the forums!

Although I can understand why you used a sepia effect, I don't think it really worked here. Perhaps it would have been good to set the scene for the first few seconds, and then use a cross disolve on the same video to go revert to the 'original' colours.