Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Hello everyone, newbie question

Default Hello everyone, newbie question

I'm looking to upgrade my pc soon (see spec in profile)

At the moment i'm toying about with vegas 8, learning the ropes etc, i'm starting to get comfortable with titles, transitions, keyframing, panning cropping etc. and i've just bought a £250 hdd jvc everio camcorder to practice filming with.

What i'm looking for advice on is buying a new pc that's going to be future proof for editing in HD, i have a five year plan, in 5 years i want to be able to shoot, edit & produce a finished product in HD

I know a lot of you seasoned pro's must have heard this question a million times, so i'll ask it again '0)

What is the minimum spec you'd recommend for hd editing?

Although i don't need it at the moment because i'm still a novice, i'm thinking i may as well get a high end pc now because A: it will be a big improvement over what i have now and B: it will improve render times, playback etc. as i'm starting to have trouble playing back things in vegas when i use multiple files, fx, transitions etc. the only way round it is to preview in draught mode so maybe the time is right for me to upgrade?

I wouldn't fancy building one myself, so i'll probably be looking for a plug in and go type

My budget is whatever it takes (within reason)

So, the question is, what MINIMUM spec should i be looking at?

I want something that will handle anything i throw at it now, (multiple power hungry effects etc.) and when i'm ready i'll be able to upgrade in the future

Thanks chaps, i'll definitely be hanging round here for some time as it's an excellent site for a novice like myself to learn from

Look forward to speaking to you all

Darren

Blog Entries