Thread: Rendering Publishing?

Default Rendering Publishing?

I am new to Vegas Pro 8. I am trying to get a video out to my daughter for her birthday half way accross the world. I have put togeter the file (video) and saved it on the hard drive as a *.veg file. I dont know how to burn it to disk so that it can be played on a UK DVD player. I have rendered it to *.mov and *.avi and burned them to a DVD but the DVD player does not recognise them can anyone help. I understand i have to choose pal and the DVD player I have is from the UK so if it plays on it it should play on my daughters. What file type,(format) (and it can be a vegas template) am i best choosing? and how do I actually burn the DVD? or do I need other software to do this? Thanks I'm a dunce. But if i wasn't doing it for my girls birthday I'd take the time to learn it better. Many thanks to anyone who can help me.

Surrey, UK
    Blog Entries

Firstly, the .veg file is only meaningful to Vegas. It is a "Project" file and is basically a list of all the bits you've used to make up your project (eg on track 2 at time 0:00 place 5 seconds from 25 seconds in of C:\MyVideos\sportsvid.avi; on track 1 at time 0:00 place a title font=Arial, Size= 36, colour = get the idea?)

Secondly, a Video DVD is NOT the same as a computer DVD. You could look at it as a computer DVD with a very specific structure and naming conventions to which it has to conform.

You need to render a video file which you have done, and as you have already discovered there are many types of video file. Domestic DVD players require files of type MPEG2.

If you have Vegas Pro 8 AND DVD Architect, the recommended approach is to render the video as MPEG2 without sound, and the sound as an AC3 file (both files should have the same name - eg MyVideo.ac3 and MyVideo.mpg)

You do not simply copy these files to a DVD you need a DVD Authoring program (such as Sony DVD Architect - often sold with Vegas Pro, but not necessarily)