Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Dual Core Experts - I need help!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    113

    Default Dual Core Experts - I need help!

    I've a Dell Precision 470 and upgraded it from a 2.8Ghz single core to 3Ghz dual core (as in 2 x 3Ghz). Now I'm no expert but I know how to follow the instructions from Dell which basically said plug in the CPU, plug in the VRM and switch it on.

    That done, everything appears to be functioning, both CPUs are listed in the BIOS and it lists them separately when running benchmark software.

    It seems a bit faster, there's a noticeable difference but it's not as fast as I'd expected and when I go to 'My Computer>Properties' it says it's a 3Ghz computer. I'm not sure if I've missed something and wondering if I had to change something in Windows.

    It would even be a great help if somebody out there who has a dual core could look up there system to see if thier computer lists one or both cores.

    Cheers!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ENGLAND!
    Posts
    774

    Default

    its fine. you wont notice much difference anyway going from a 2.8ghz cpu to 3ghz dual core cpu. it is commonly misunderstood that because there are 2 processors, you times the processing power by 2. e.g. 3ghz x 2 = 6ghz. this is not the case. it can do 2 things at once at 3ghz but not one thing at 6. most programs are single treaded meaning they'll only use one processor but editing programs like adobe premiere and vegas will use both cores and you should she a big boost in performance.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    And... so long as you can see 2 cores in the perf tab of the task manager all is well.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ENGLAND!
    Posts
    774

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mark W View Post
    And... so long as you can see 2 cores in the perf tab of the task manager all is well.
    Ahh good point, for got about that :L

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    113

    Default

    That's brilliant thanks fellas. All appears to be working normally, I guess I was just expecting too much from the upgrade. It is much faster just not lighting fast.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ENGLAND!
    Posts
    774

    Default

    What processor did you get as you may be able to overclock it to give you the power you expected.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    113

    Default

    It's 3Ghz Pentium Xeon x 2. How do I over clock and are there any adverse effects that over clocking is an option rather than standard?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ENGLAND!
    Posts
    774

    Default

    it'll be either a pentium or an xeon. it can't be both. right click my computer and click properties and it should say what processor it is. it'll be something like E2180 or Pentium D 915 etc.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    113

    Default

    Sorry I meant Intel Xeon.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ENGLAND!
    Posts
    774

    Default

    what does it say in my computer because without the cpu name/id it's impossible to predict how well it or if it even will overclock?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Need some help from the experts
    By Totalcameranoob in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-29-2007, 03:27 PM
  2. Do I need 64bit Win XP for a dual core 64 bit CPU?
    By Elton333 in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-22-2007, 09:51 PM
  3. dual core & other questions
    By Dj_Trigger in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 03-20-2006, 03:35 PM
  4. AMD DUAL CORE PROCESSORS AND PREMIER PRO COMPATABILITY
    By G0UDG in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-23-2006, 10:55 PM
  5. dual processor or dual core processor
    By david walsh in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-05-2005, 05:59 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •