Thread: Full Frame 35mm Video Camera

Default Full Frame 35mm Video Camera

Hi, I'm new to Digital Director and returning to video production following a very long break (please see my profile). Please excuse me if I'm being naive but I'm on a new learning curve and need this research quickly and would be very grateful to receive help.

It seems that many people go to great lengths to get their videos to appear as filmic as possible (within a budget) and use add-on devices like the Letus 35mm adapter and similar. Now that the Canon 5D Mk2 has appeared (at half the cost of a good adapter) with excellent quality results Canon has proved that it is possible to produce a full frame 35mm camera for both stills and video for a very reasonable price. So why hasn't Canon (or any other manufacturer) produced a dedicated 35mm full frame video camera yet with more video-orientated facilities? Or am I missing something? Or is there one in development?

I'm a Nikon (DSLR) user (D2X) at the moment. Which type of lenses are you able to use if you employ an adapter like the Letus? Are they the old manual type or can you use recent lenses like I would use in my D2X? I just need a kick start in this part of my research as I don't want to waste time and money on a system which could be superseded very shortly with a camera like the one I've described above.

Thanks in advance.
    Colin Cadle

Bristol uk
    Blog Entries

Not an expert - no first hand use. However...

AFAIK most 35mm adaptors will wrok ' normally' with 35mm lneses and have the same f length in use.

Full frame 35 mm video cameras are avaialbe but only at the top end of the market.

To get the best from the increaed perf of a full frmae ccd / cmos a much higher data rate is needed.