Thread: Is 24P with pulldown removed smooth?

Default Is 24P with pulldown removed smooth?

PAL DVDs suffer from a 4% speed increase, whereas NTSC DVDs use a 3:2 pulldown, which apparently causes a slightly jerky image.

If something was captured at 24P but encoded in a 60i stream by the camcorder (and adding a 3:2 pulldown), would it result in slightly jerky motion even when the pulldown is removed and it becomes a true progressive stream?

Just to make things clear, by jerky I mean UNEVEN motion, not the normal low framerate jitter that 24p has.

2. Default

I would guess so, you may also get interlacing issues.

Blog Entries

I ahve never noticed pull down judder on ntsc films, and that is watching on 7ft projection system. But NTSC dvds do look soft copamred to pal.

The 4% change in speed on pal has never bothered me but I wish it wasnt there, Specifically I cant sense any pictch changes in music, but I dont have perfect pitch.

I have no inside knowledge but I suspect the pitch is coprrected - technically that wouldnt be hard.

It seems logical that if you deinterlace a clip with a 2 3 pulldown the (tiny) artifacts of pull down would remain.

Are these artifacts actually bothering you cos I cant say it has ever bothered me - apart from in principle.

I think all films from hollywood - well nearly all - should run at double speed to get them over with quicker. lols.

Quote Originally Posted by Mark W View Post
    Are these artifacts actually bothering you cos I cant say it has ever bothered me - apart from in principle.
    I can't really say yet, but if there are noticeable artifacts, it would.