Thread: NTSC viedo capture comes out in black&white

Default NTSC viedo capture comes out in black&white

Dear Forum,

I'm trying to capture a video tape that came from Japan. My VCR is PAL but supports NTSC playback. When I play it to my TV it's fine - good quality, in colour no problems with the sound etc. But when I capture it, it's in black and white. I'm a bit new to capturing, so I'm not sure of what the trick is. My setup is:

Funai VCR
    SCART to Composite lead (quite a cheap one - from Tesco's!)
    VideoStudio SE DVD version 10
    MPEG 2 format
    Bitrate: 4000
    Input format set to NTSC.
    Soundsource: USB
    Hardware: High end Sony laptop running Vistia Premium.

These settings were discovered after a lot of trial and error. Many times I got the error 'Cannot build MPEG capture graph' but after:

a) Switching everything off on my PC that I didn't need.
    b) Unplugging all other USB devices.
    c) Not using the extension cable between EasyCAP and the Video.
    d) Ignoring the graph error and retrying a few times.
    e) Setting the VideoStudio process to 'High Priority'.

then I was able to capture very reasonable looking video and nice sound with a reasonable filesize (about 2.36GB for 1 hour 30 mins). But still black and white! Occasionally when the video paused, or just after I took it out of capture mode I would see colour on the preview screen. If I set VideoStudio to PAL input then I'd see a still frame (in colour) but then clicking on capture it complained there was no video input.

I tried downloading the latest version of VideoStudio (I think it's X2, aka 12) and I couldn't get the sound to work - there was no option to select the UCB sound source (as opposed to my built in mic). Interesting, this version had many more formats to try, but all appeared in black and white. It had a bunch of PAL formats none of which worked except PAL_M which game me a B&W preview again.