Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbie asks : lossy and lossless?

Default Newbie asks : lossy and lossless?

I am new to movies and movie editing, and need a few pointers. My cameras take movies in AVI format (One is a sony point and shoot, the other a MiniDV camcorder) I also have old family videos that I am transferring to the computer using a Canopus device. I am very confused about loss and losslessness, when it happens and what I should be doing about it. Once the video has been uploaded to my computer, does it lose detail every time I view it? If the file is burned to a DVD - does that lose detail in the burning or when it is viewed? Does it lose detail during editing? During the end process when the movie is rendered into a certain format? (Am I even using the word "render" correctly?) How can I save my movies from losing details? Thanks a lot - I have tried to read about this but it isn't making sense to me in terms of movies.

Hi Vallan,

Lossless video means that none of the pixels or the audio track are changed at all, so you get highest quality but at a high file size. With Lossy compression, the codec will alter the video contents slightly to allow for lower file sizes (that's a very very loose description, but the quickest way I can think of).

Just viewing lossy videos won't degrade the quality, but editing it will reduce it somewhat. To be honest, unless you're editing your source footage, then re-editing the edited version, then re-editing the re-edited version, you probably won't notice any difference in standard DV footage.

Burning to DVD will techincally reduce quality, because the bitrate of DVDs is lower than the bitrate of miniDV.

Personally, I wouldn't re-edit my footage more than once; there's not usually any need to.

As with a lot of things, the best thing to do is experiment.

Default reediting and loss

HI Mike,