Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Problem uploading footage withdcr-hc39e pal camcorder,Please help me.

  1. #1

    Default Problem uploading footage withdcr-hc39e pal camcorder,Please help me.

    HelLO Everyone,

    I bought a handycam dcr-hc33e camcorder about 3 years ago and was having major problems uploading my film.

    Since then I have lost my "First Step Guide" and the "Picture Package" software.

    I have been on all the forums but still no luck. I have installed drivers for my model a million times but I still get the error message saying "no capture driver installed or no device connected" when using U-lead video studio or Windows Movie Maker.

    I am assuming I need the first step guide that came with my camcorder but I'm not sure.


    Someone please help me as 'the rage' is starting to set in!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Nelson, New Zealand
    Posts
    399

    Default

    Hi, Now I know you might think this is a dumb question but are you connecting to firewire out, I have a friend with a camera with both USB and Firewire, and it caused a bit of confusion. also what operating system are you using.
    Bryan

  3. #3

    Default

    Hey, thanks for replying Bryan,

    I am connecting using the connection with the three prongs symbol (extreme lack of technology) into a usb connection on the PC. This is the only connection I have. I am going down to Dixons tomorrow to ask their help as this is where I purchased it from but I doubt they'll be much help.

    I am using XP btw

    Hope someone can help before im old and grey

    Chris

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Nelson, New Zealand
    Posts
    399

    Default

    Hi Chris, I just checked on the specification of you camera at:-

    ManualsMania | Sony > DCR-HC33E - Download Operating Instructions English 4.81 Mb

    If you go to page 57 it shows you the type of connections your camera uses, what I referred to as firewire is what Sony call "i.Link" it is the way you download mini DV to a computer so you will have to get yourself a cheap pci firewire card unless your computer already has one, looking at what Sony supply with the camera it doesn't comes with a firewire cable which is why you are having so much trouble.

    Bryan

  5. #5

    Default

    Hi Bryan,

    Thanks again for this help. So your saying that I need to get a firewire (i-link) cable and if it still doesnt work, a firewire card. Does this cable connect to the back of the PC or is it still usb?

    Thanks so much because this means I can get along with editing things that has taken me years to get this figured

    Chris

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Nelson, New Zealand
    Posts
    399

    Default

    Hi Chris, yes firewire and usb are two separate connectors so you will need a new firewire cable, some computers have got firewire pre-installed, it should tell you if it has in the motherboard user manual that came with your computer, otherwise you will have to get a firewire card, firewire is for transferring video, so when you have it connected up to the camera it has to be in playback to transfer to the computer, if you get everything working OK you can do all your transferring with the editing programs, I'm using a similar program to you "Corel Video Studio Pro X2" it was Ulead but has been renamed, so it will do everything including producing the final DVD, it's a great program.
    Bryan

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Nelson, New Zealand
    Posts
    399

    Default

    PS if you decide to fit the card yourself don't forget to earth yourself to or at least get hold of the metal frame of the computer before you handle any electronic parts or touch anything in the computer you must ALWAYS dissipate any static charges you will have built up on you before you do anything to the computer, well after switching of the computer of course. I worked for Burroughs many years ago and on all there service manuals for electronic equipment, in bold lettering on the first page it said "hands on" meaning touch the metal before you touch the electronics,
    Bryan

  8. #8

    Default

    Thanks again Bryan,

    Im gonna get a firewire cable and try it out. Just discovered a firewire port so im assuming it will have a firewire card! Woot!

    I'll let you know how I get on and again, thanks so much for your help!

    Kind regards

    Chris

  9. #9

    Default

    Hi again,

    Right, went out yesterday and bought an i-link cable. Put all the connections in and turned the camcorder to playback/edit. Computer did not notice any new device connected and moviemaker or any other program didnt either.

    I got the same message "no capture device connected"

    I am coming to the conclusion that the camera is not installed onto the PC and therefor does not recognise when its connected. The first step guide supplied with the camera has installation software and I think its this that I need.

    I know that there are a lot of frustrated sony users that have also lost the disk and surely sony would notice this too. However there is a download page on the sony website that has all the programs that you get with the camera except the First Step Guide.

    I will be phoning sony tomorrow as I am furious now. Again I'll let you know how I get on

    Chris

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Nelson, New Zealand
    Posts
    399

    Default

    Hi Chris I would have thought XP would have found new hardware and gone from there, now are you sure it recognizes that it has a firewire port, if you look in device manager it should be listed as IEEE 1394 Bus host controllers, well the one I've fitted to this computer comes up with that, but mine is a PCI card so it might be different if it's part of the Motherboard, another thought is that if it's part of the Motherboard it might need selecting in BIOS.
    Bryan

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. can hardrive camcorder footage be easily dropped into video editing software???
    By thedirector20 in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 11-26-2007, 04:12 PM
  2. Best Camcorder for Web Uploading...
    By sudhavani in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-12-2007, 06:13 AM
  3. Footage Problem
    By Snaak in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-06-2007, 06:07 PM
  4. Best Camcorder for shooting concert footage?
    By SaintAL in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-08-2006, 12:31 AM
  5. Why when I preview my camcorder footage is it in slow-motion
    By confused in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-27-2005, 01:27 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •