Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Camera settings questions.

Blog Entries

Default Camera settings questions.

I have a professional camera but I am not a professional camera operator. This comes under the ' I bit off more than I vcan chew' cateogarie of question.

Someone recently contacted me though my web site to ask me about setting up the JVC DV500/1 series and I had no idea.

I have had the camera a year or more but only today have I looked in detail at the menus and options. Obviously the thing to do is experiment but I wanted to ask first in case many of these things are best not touched and / or are not applicable to me.

Frame mode? - some fake progressive scan ?
    Cine mode? - thru the finder looks like a whaccy gamma.
    Skin colour adjust ? - is that for racists ?? lols.
    Flare r and b ? - silly rock and roll dacing?
    Detail - shrpening in cam i presume.
    Detail v/h blanace?
    FAW ?
    Skin detail detect?

I found the gamma settings and will play there as I usually find myself upping gamma in post.
    There are a gamut of colour matrix settings but that sort of tweaking surely can be done in post just as well ?
    I aslo sussed black stretch and auto knee but usually forget to use them when neede - lols.

I hope someone much more expirienced than me will be able to advise ( Guru ?? ). The manual and google are contradictory and confusing about much of the above.
    Last edited by Mark W; 01-16-2009 at 11:05 AM.

Hi Mark - I'm always looking for ways to improve the look of shots and I guess it's a case of either softly, softly on each setting wired up to a monitor and then a test shoot, or leaving it at stock settings. I have reset my cam 5101 to give a look I'm happier with and will post them on Monday when I next get the cam out.
    Some settings I never bother with, though I'm sure they'd be effective in certain situations, but I never have time to fiddle much on a shoot.