Thread: Problems capturing game footage from certain consoles.

Default Problems capturing game footage from certain consoles.

Hi all,

Newbie here. First I wanna say this website and forum is great. Me and a friend have been making videos as hobbies for about a year now and this is a site I wish Id found 12 months ago. Good job.

Anyway, we make short videos giving information about games (similar to The Angry Video Game Nerd but in a less aggressive nature).

Im having problems capturing game footage from the Playstation consoles (PS1, PS2 and PS3). I purchased a PCI video capture card some time ago, it was a cheapy one from Hong Kong.

Basically, we hook up the consoles using the RCA A/V connectors to the rear of the PCI card, and play the games on screen whilst capturing. This works fine with all other consoles including the Xbox 360, but the screen flickers with the Playstation consoles.

It seems to stop if we wiggle the cables, its a matter of luck.
    How can we sort this? I cant find any information on the internet about this.

Thanks in advance.

Western Europe

Your video connection might be loose as you say it improves if you jiggle it a bit, but I'm sure you are looking for a long term solution rather than having to do that everytime. So check the connectors and maybe use different cables to see if that has any affect. I don't know if you have tried FRAPS but I remember reading posts on here that this particular piece of software is used a lot by gamers who want to record the games they are playing. You can download it from Download Fraps 2.9.8 -