Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Buying advice - PMW EX3

Default Buying advice - PMW EX3

Hi everyone, Iím new to these forums and was hoping this would be the place to ask about semi pro equipment. This seems like a forum I could get used to with lot of buzzing questions and advice

Anyway - I am a film student and have been for 4 years. Itís only recently, in the last year or so, I feel my skills warrant an upgrade from handy cam to semi pro with full manual controls. I've had a look around and there have been many camcorders that have tickled my tastebuds, mainly the PMW - EX series.

To cut to the chase I was really interested in buying the EX1 only to find in the past few weeks Sony has announced a price rise bringing the EX1 to around £4200... I called up a Sony retailer and they told me they have no more EX1's at the original price; however they do have an EX3 at £4,700. Although expensive it still is almost £1000 less than the RRP.

My question is; am I running before I can walk here and buying something which I will not need or is it a wise buying decision? Bare in mind that when the old stock of EX3's are gone they will retail again around £5,500.

In my opinion if I buy this now and decide in two years to sell the EX3 the second hand price will almost be the same as what I bought it for.

I have many many questions but it could take a long time and I canít help feel people will stop reading...

Thanks for checking out my thread and any responses welcome!

Blog Entries

Prosumer camcorders sell like computers. They are constantly being upgraded and constantly increasing in price. So, in a few months you'll be in exactly the same situation, just a bit older. You could wait a few months before buying a camcorder but the result is a few months not making movies. The only thing I would hold back on is buying memory cards, they will fall in price. Only buy the amount you need now.