Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Video capture problem!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Horsham, West Sussex UK
    Posts
    9

    Default Video capture problem!

    In July, I captured video from my Canon MV20 digital camera via 1394 FireWire connection. I used both Windows Movie Maker and Pinnacle Studio7 creating both .wmv and .avi files and all worked OK.

    I am now unable to repeat the exercise. If I try to create .wmv (highest quality) I only get a still, but very jumbled image (I'm not sure whether the correct term is 'pixelated'!) in the preview box and the video capture does not start. Trying a .avi file, the video capture does start, and the preview box shows movement but the image is again very distorted.

    Not sure whether it is relevant or not but I have successfully captured video using webcam via USB port using Windows Movie Maker wizard so sifware seems OK. Also, I can control the camera from the PC so cable and connections would seem OK!!

    Help!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Horsham, West Sussex UK
    Posts
    9

    Default

    I'm posting an update to my original cry for help (none received!)

    I have spent 20-30 hours trying to resolve this problem, talking to Evesham (my computer supplier) and Microsoft (in UK and Canada) and local PC shops etc. Eventually, I was persuaded to reformat my machine and reload Windows XP. I immediately tried capturing video using Windows Movie Maker1 which is automatically loaded as part of XP. Lo and behold, it worked fine.

    I then loaded Service Pack2 for XP which, amongst other things, automatically upgrades Windows Movie Maker to version2.......and I get exactly the same problem as before (see below). Microsoft can't come with a suitable answer so my only course of action seems to be to uninstall SP2. Unless anybody has a better idea!

    I have just read a posting dated 7/11/2004 which refers to SP2 screwing up video drivers and guess this might be the same issue. I'll watch out for updates there as well.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Horsham, West Sussex UK
    Posts
    9

    Default

    See "Video capturing freezes at first frame" for resolution. It worked for me too!

Similar Threads

  1. video capture problem
    By gzevspero in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-16-2006, 07:01 PM
  2. Vegas capture video Problem!
    By Ponis in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-03-2006, 11:34 AM
  3. Capture problem
    By Rashmi13 in forum Pinnacle Studio, Edition including Avid Xpress and Liquid
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-02-2006, 07:59 PM
  4. Premier Pro Capture with ATI Rage Theater Video Capture card
    By Nolubez in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-15-2006, 07:37 PM
  5. Problem with video capture via FX5600
    By Idle in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-01-2004, 11:04 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •