Thread: Better format than MiniDV for consumers? Is it superior in any way any more?

Question Better format than MiniDV for consumers? Is it superior in any way any more?

I did a Multimedia degree from 2005 to 2008 and was told to film all course material on DV tape.

I currently have a Canon MD101 MiniDV digital video camcorder, but capturing the footage in real time and having to change tapes is frustrating.

Is there any advantage to this format any more?

Are there better formats for consumers these days?

Blog Entries

Changing tapes is frustrating? Do you have any hands?
    If you dont like changing a tape you need you see a councellor as you appear to have issues. with tapes.

If you have done a media degree I am suprised you even have to ask the question.

SD card - nope - you gotta change cards - even ' worse' than tapes for the none handed.

Hdrive cameras - been in the shops for 5 years now....

Did it not occur to you that your tutours may be tellling the truth ?

Quote Originally Posted by Mark W View Post
    Changing tapes is frustrating? Do you have any hands?
    If you dont like changing a tape you need you see a councellor as you appear to have issues. with tapes.

If you have done a media degree I am suprised you even have to ask the question.

SD card - nope - you gotta change cards - even ' worse' than tapes for the none handed.

Hdrive cameras - been in the shops for 5 years now....

Did it not occur to you that your tutours may be tellling the truth ?
    It also appeared to me that their knowledge may be dated and not quite up to scratch on modern technology as most lecturers are these days (as most are 35+ years old).

What has the length of time hard disk drive-based digital camcorders have been available got to do with anything? Surely 5+ years means they're progressed well. Part of my topic was to discover if they're now a better alternative to MiniDV for consumers looking to pay between 150 and 450 for a digital camcorder.