Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: complete beginner at video editing

Default complete beginner at video editing

I am a complete novice when it comes to video editing and have read the reviews for most of the well known video editing programmes but have no idea how to go about choosing one that would suit a novice. I have a project which spans 5 years - creating a garden from a wilderness. I succeeded in getting it all onto mini DVs (from old VHS tapes) and using a Adobe Premiere (that a friend no longer needed) got some of it onto my external hard drive. However, I find it extremely complicated and wondered if Sony Vegas would be easier to use. Are there good online tutorials available? I have a new laptop with huge hard drive and fast processor so speed and space will not be a problem no matter what programme I eventually choose. I would appreciate advice from anyone else who has just started or from those of you who are now experts and can remember back to when you started out. Thank you in advance. Pegmac

If you really want to try something easy, try Windows Movie Maker. It's simple to use and will burn your finished project to DVD.

Can't vouch for the finished product though. I haven't used it in years.

I did a lot of reasearch before buying Sony Vegas Movie Studio 9, and it appeared that the best programs for a novice while still being powerful are Movie Studio 9 and Cyberlink PowerDirector 7. As mentioned in another thread, you need newer hardware for PowerDirector, though (i.e. an nVidia card with CUDA, so 8xxx or newer).

There is a learning curve with Movie Studio, as with anything new, but Sony has tutorial videos on their site which are actually very good, as well as text tutorials built in to the software that run with your actual project, so you are using a real example while learning. Sony even has forums on their own site, too.