Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Canon HV30 - Xena HS capture card (HD)

  1. #1

    Default Canon HV30 - Xena HS capture card (HD)

    Hi everyone,

    I've recently bought the Canon HV30 and Adobe Premiere Pro CS4.

    My PC specs are:
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual, 2GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 7800 GT

    I make video installations and the quality of the video is
    important for my work.

    I've tried to capture HD footage with Premiere Pro CS4 from
    the HV30 via firewire and the footage that I got was a
    compressed MPEG (1440x1080 progressive, 25fps).

    Not only I am not happy with the 'compressed' aspect of the
    captured footage (I need it to be uncompressed), but even the
    compressed version cannot be displayed or edited in real time.

    I've tried to change the HDV capture setting in Premiere but
    they are not available. Is this because my PC cannot capture/edit
    the uncompressed HD footage?

    I've done some research on the subject and I think I have to buy a
    capture card in order to capture uncompressed HD footage and
    edit it in real time.

    Since I've spent a lot of money on the Canon and Premiere, I can
    only afford an average capture card.

    I've found the AJA XENA HS
    SD PCI CAPTURE / PLAYBACK CARD, which, if I've understood
    correctly, does exactly what I've mentioned above.
    ( Xena HS - 30-Day Money-Back Guarantee - Safe Harbor 800-544-6599 )

    Any thoughts or suggestions would be appreciated!
    Many thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,526
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    A cheaper route would be to buy a third party plugion for Premiere. Here are a few:

    MainConcept: Information

    Aspect HD and Prospect HD for Adobe Premiere Pro

  3. #3

    Default

    I've decided to upgrade some parts of my pc (cpu, RAM etc.) and if it won't work then I'll go for the Prospect HD plug-in.

    many thanks

  4. #4

    Default

    Hi again

    I've upgraded my RAM from 2 to 4gb but it did not improve the real-time playback/editing of the HDV footage at all.

    I guess I'll will have to upgrade the cpu too in order to get some results.

    If that won't work as well then I'll think of buying the upcoming Cineforms's Prospect HD codec (compatible with Premiere CS4).

    The frustrating thing is that the capturing of the HDV footage is done smoothly, with no loss of frames, but then I cannot edit/play it in real time.
    The only problem with the capturing is that I cannot see the footage on the screen when the capturing takes place - it is done though with the DV footage.

    I've compared my system's specs with the min suggested by Adobe and I barely pass. But that's not enough.

    I am still a bit sceptical about not buying a capture card though since even Adobe (Adobe - Adobe Premiere Pro CS4: Capture Card Partners) says that, apart from the capturing, they also
    support the real-time playback/editing of HDV footage.

    thanks again for your help above

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Ok - I dont use your software so check this.

    Every editor I have used ( not many to be sure ) DOES capture the raw HDV data - it is a type of mpeg.

    I think you are confused about what uncompressed means. Only cameras that cost more than a house save uncompressed video. An uncompressed video stream is about 1280 mbit/sec. HDV is 25mbit so it is compressed about 50 to 1 by the camera and you cant do anything about that.

    When people say uncompressed thay are often referring to the raw camera files with compressed being reserved for wmv, divx and so on that are highly compressed for web streaming - typically 2 mbit/sec.

    No capture card is needed. The digital data is transferred as is from the camera through the f wire.

    As for real time editing - what exactly do you want to achieve? Editing by it's nature is not real time.

    Referance - Your High-Def Mac | Macworld
    Last edited by Mark W; 01-11-2009 at 05:19 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Peterborough, Ontario
    Posts
    94

    Default

    You really don't want to use a capture card. Firewire! transfers exactly what's on your camera to your hardrive. I checked out your link - when they speak of capturing uncompressed that means the capture card does nothing to compress the video as as it's captured, as opposed to a direct to mpg capture card.

    If you use firewire and you're not happy with your video quality, perhaps the camera itself has some settings you can play with.

    Real time editing with capture cards refers to the time it takes to render. 1 minute in = 1 minute output.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    " Real time editing with capture cards refers to the time it takes to render. 1 minute in = 1 minute output "

    Thanks - I really am never sure what that means. I thought it was something far more glamarous - lols.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Peterborough, Ontario
    Posts
    94

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mark W View Post
    " Real time editing with capture cards refers to the time it takes to render. 1 minute in = 1 minute output "

    Thanks - I really am never sure what that means. I thought it was something far more glamarous - lols.
    No....... nothing more glamarous. You do so much video editing you naturally see editing as taking your clips and creating a film out of them. Their idea of editing is basically moving the footage from camera to computer!

Similar Threads

  1. Canon HV30 Test
    By MarkOneMusic in forum User Videos
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-22-2009, 07:07 PM
  2. Canon HV30 - HD capturing problems
    By annapanagiot in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-26-2008, 12:40 AM
  3. Canon Vixia HV30
    By mothaselin in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-26-2008, 04:09 AM
  4. Premier Pro Capture with ATI Rage Theater Video Capture card
    By Nolubez in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-15-2006, 08:37 PM
  5. video capture card or AGP vid card
    By Dazedandconfused in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-21-2005, 12:27 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •