Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: System Requiremets for After Effects CS3

  1. #1

    Question System Requirements for After Effects CS3


    I am wondering what the system requirements for Adobe After Effects CS3 are. CS4 is too power hungry for my machine. Will the following machine cope with CS3?

    Pentium 4 2.4GHz
    1GB RAM
    128MB NVidia Geforce FX 5600
    Windows Media Centre SP3

    Thanks, any help appreciated.
    Last edited by kasiopc; 12-30-2008 at 12:07 PM.

  2. #2


    You won't be able to run it on that machine sorry to say.
    Here would be my minimum recommendation

    2GB RAM, 256mb Video, Dual Core 2.0 or better processor.

    I tried to run CS3 on a 3.0 ghz HT and it is just too slow.
    Version 7 worked ok, but it was still really slow on that machine.
    Even on my dual core laptop it isn't fast.
    Now on my dual, dual core 3.0 Xeon with 4GB of RAM it pretty much flies Everything you wanted to know about Premiere Elements and more

  3. #3


    OK Thanks anyway.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Bracknell, Berkshire, UK


    Frankly I'm surprised. If Chuck has first hand experience I'll happily stand by his statement though.

    However, rest assured that it WILL run on your machine - just maybe not very quickly. I had no troubles running v7 pro on a similar speced machine.

    Of course my statement assume 'Windows Media Centre' is a real copy of windows for running s/w.

  5. #5


    I have got a trial for Adobe AE 7 and it is running quite good. Thanks for the advice.

  6. #6


    I also said that I ran it on my 3.0GHZ machine with 2GB of RAM, it drove me crazy because of the rendering times.

    Sorry, didn't mean to make you think that it wouldn't work at all. After you play with it for awhile you will see what I mean. But then maybe not if you don't have anything faster to compare it to. Everything you wanted to know about Premiere Elements and more

  7. #7


    OK Thanks, and I'll probably be upgrading to a better computer later.

  8. #8


    Are you kidding me ?

    I Have Platinium 4 2.4ghz Processor , 1 GB RAM and 64 video memory.
    And adobe after effect cs3 runs on my computer easily and fast..

Similar Threads

  1. help getting new system
    By in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-16-2008, 11:01 AM
  2. Advanced 3D Solar System - After Effects
    By guitarfaces in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-19-2008, 04:21 PM
  3. new system for editing/special effects
    By thedigitalpunkz in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-09-2006, 09:27 PM
  4. New System
    By Anonymous in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-22-2005, 08:53 PM
  5. Why we Need more than 1 HD in our system
    By tribute in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-15-2005, 10:04 PM


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts