Thread: Need some advice on best video format to use for editing

Default Need some advice on best video format to use for editing

Hi there ,

I am fairly new to video , I'am actually a web developer ,
    ->My issue is that I am trying tomake a professional looking video using Adobe Elements 2.0. and Iam unsure as to which video format to use that provide the highest quality ,, I shot the video with a canon Vixia HG20 camera , in HD mode ,
    I have used a couple programs to capture the video from the camera onto my comp , and then to convert the files from .m2ts format into a couple different formats,,
    so far I 've found that mpeg-4 and .avi formats have had the best quality while viewing.. Could anyone give me some advice as to which format might be better ,, and why?,,
    Also I seem to be having an issue in Adobe Elements , where the display screen plays the video pretty choppy , ann in turn makes it hard to view the transitions and all in all is just annoying ,, does anyone know how to make the display in elements play video smoothly?

Thanks For any help ,

Bristol uk
    Blog Entries

Firstly - if you want professional looking films you need a professional. Hints and tips do not a professional make.

I am not familiar with your editor but you should be aiming for as little ' fiddling ' as possible to preserve the technical aspects of the video.

A competant editing app will accept the files as is from the camera, but ACVHD cameras are a bitch often. Many editors still dont like the files - make sure yours is fully patched and updated.

As for jumpy preview - that is entirely normal - that is why its called preview. It is however much more of a problem with AVCHD files as they are horrid to edit on. The format is highly comperssed and uses a variable bit rate meaning that is hugely processor intensive to edit.