Thread: How to avoid slowing down when loads of clips added?

Cool How to avoid slowing down when loads of clips added?

Alo!

I am using Sony Vegas 9.0 and the problem is, that adding clips gets even slower the more you add them. Is there a way to avoid this?

Does the clips' video type have an affect on this, for I've mainly used .mov's? (Yeah, I know, but I'm a learning amateur!)

My PC:

Intel Celeron Core 2 Duo 2,4 GHz processor
    2 GB Ram
    GF 7950 GT 512 RAM
    Windows XP Pro

Blog Entries

What is getting slower? Playback in preview?
    How are you adding clips? To the timeline on the same track? Different tracks?
    The only thing that should cause it to slow down is adding clips on different tracks (if you have three clips under the cursor, it has to work on three timeas as many clips at once as if you have one) and effects/trasitions/changes to opacity/pans/crops/track motion)
    BUT if you simply have one video track and use straight cuts with no effects adding more clips to the end will not slow vegas down.

On the other hand, if you don't have enough hard drive space or it's not defragmented you may get problems. Anything else accessing your files at the same time might cause problems (anti-virus). And I didn't think such a thing as a Celeron Core 2 Duo existed.
    Tim

Quote Originally Posted by TimStannard View Post
    What is getting slower? Playback in preview?
    How are you adding clips? To the timeline on the same track? Different tracks?
    I usually add a new clip to the timeline by dragging it from another folder window. Playback lags a bit, of course, but I know how to manage that. I use only one track for video clips and I use effects and other tracks when needed to.

The problem is, that when the video gets longer and longer, I need to wait even more time when a clip is inserted.