Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Help! Widescreen Vs not

  1. Default Help! Widescreen Vs not

    Hi,

    I'm working on a project which has been supplied and which includes a mixture of widescreen and 14:3 aspect cuts off istockphoto. The obvious problem here is that wheh the finished video is rendered it switches between widescreen and 14:3 which is obviously not ideal as the finished project needs to be played in a standard flash player size.

    Can anyone please suggest how I can get the original media to match so my entire project displays at the same aspect?

    I've obviously tried standardising the settings in rendering process and in the properties menu but this doesn't seem to help.

  2. Default

    By the way - I'm using Sony Pro 8 - got to keep the forum monitors happy :0)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Warsop, Nottinghamshire.
    Posts
    4,465
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    What format are you rendering to? I always render as AVI first, and then encode that file into MPEG for dvd or wmv for web etc. I never have aspect problems working like that.

  4. Default

    Basically, the videos came in Quicktime from istockphoto, I've then added them to a Vegas project and am rendering the project to .wmv and from there using CSuper to convert further to a .swf and then Flash video encoder to a .flv file to install onto a website.

    However, the problem seems to be with getting the source footage in Vegas (the Quictime from istockphoto) to all be the same aspect - I think !!??

  5. Default

    Can anyone help get rid of my black bars at top of istockphoto video clips?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    10,847
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Goldfinger View Post
    Can anyone help get rid of my black bars at top of istockphoto video clips?
    The only way you'll be able to do that is to zoom in on the clip in vegas (using Pan & Crop) Obviously you'll lose bits left and right, but what other option is there? (Apart from stretching it vertically which you could also do - but I presume you don't want to)
    Tim

  7. Default

    I think I've had a 'bit' of success basically just re-rendering each original Quicktime clip as a .avi ensuring that they all have the same size options and then it seems that basically I'm going to have to re edit my project using the new clips. Bummer !

    I tried cropping the black bars out but because they seem to be embedded in the original, the crop just scales the black bars down too!!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,526
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Import into a 16:9 project and then scale up. You'll lose the black bars and won't lose any picture.

  9. Default

    When you say scale up, do you mean change the size setting in the properties menu?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,526
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    If that's how you scale in Vegas, then yes.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Video shot in widescreen but isn't widescreen when captured
    By Laughing Cheese in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-27-2007, 05:25 AM
  2. Widescreen .... please help
    By robinf in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-25-2006, 11:42 PM
  3. Widescreen
    By vegasarian in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-11-2006, 08:35 AM
  4. widescreen
    By simonforbes1970 in forum Blu Ray, DVD, SVCD and VCD authoring
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-08-2006, 03:45 PM
  5. Widescreen Help
    By Eason in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-15-2004, 04:34 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •