Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Deinterlacing - A silly question?

  1. #1

    Default Deinterlacing - A silly question?

    Evening All,

    Now this could be a stupid question but it is something I have never actually learnt.

    When you export from CS3 (as with any programme i guess) you should check the de interlace box when exporting for use on the web/computer screens? I beleive this to be true though I dont know the science behind why

    Should I de interlace when exporting to DVD for playing on the TV or not?

    I have had an experiment doing both inter and de inter for dvds and cant see much of a difference on the telly.

    anyone know the science behind the reasons for or against, please let me know

    Cheers

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    The difference is small.

    If it's for a tv - interlcae. PC - deinterlace. But getting it wrong is trivial. All my wmvs online are compressed from interlaced and it looks fine.

    Televisions that run at 25 fps ( most) look far better displaying an interlaced pic .

    Progressive at 25p is juddery.

    More - Interlace - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,526
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    There's a technical reason to it, but the fundamental is that if you watch anything on a PC with software that's doesn't apply a deinterlace filter, you will need to deinterlace.

    So to be on the safe side, if you produce a DVD, don't deinterlace. If you're not producing a DVD, de-intelace.

  4. #4

    Default

    I appreciate your help Mark. I didn't even think to have a look on wikipedia.

    When i had a test using both I could tell any noticeable diff but its always good to know the theory behind the process.


    Cheers for the reply

  5. #5

    Default

    Aha! rapid response, cheers also to you Marc

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Perhaps the only time it notices is on fast motion.

    And as for the duopoly of helpfull markcs - lucky we said the same thing...

Similar Threads

  1. Silly Question from a complete newbie
    By Joe Hardy in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-10-2008, 05:06 PM
  2. Premiere Pro V7 - new user silly question
    By QfanatiQ in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-28-2007, 07:17 AM
  3. Another silly Question ?.
    By ill-matic in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-16-2005, 12:31 PM
  4. Silly Animations
    By StevenBogda in forum User Videos
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 04-07-2005, 12:28 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •