Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: iLink transfer problem

  1. #1

    Unhappy iLink transfer problem

    Hi,
    I`m using a Sony Dvcam 3ccd connected by Fire-wire to a pc with an Intel 2 Quad core, 4 Gig Ram, geforce 1Gig video card, 500 Gig HD and 2 Dell 22" monitors. I`m running Adobe Premiere pro cs4.
    When I connect the cam the pc recognizes it, when i start transfer, the tape rewinds, and starts transfer. After a few seconds (+/-3) the preview image starts breaking up(pixelating?) and I get an error message telling me that the device has been disconnected. The same happens when I connect the cam to another pc using windows moviemaker. so it must be the cam in some way or another. But.. the same cam connected to an Apple works fine... what could be the problem??
    Pls. help.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,191

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mightymike-bonaire View Post
    Hi,
    I`m using a Sony Dvcam 3ccd connected by Fire-wire to a pc with an Intel 2 Quad core, 4 Gig Ram, geforce 1Gig video card, 500 Gig HD and 2 Dell 22" monitors. I`m running Adobe Premiere pro cs4.
    When I connect the cam the pc recognizes it, when i start transfer, the tape rewinds, and starts transfer. After a few seconds (+/-3) the preview image starts breaking up(pixelating?) and I get an error message telling me that the device has been disconnected. The same happens when I connect the cam to another pc using windows moviemaker. so it must be the cam in some way or another. But.. the same cam connected to an Apple works fine... what could be the problem??
    Pls. help.
    Firewire transfer only works when you connect 24" monitors!!!

    Seriously though, a few things to try...
    Clean the tape head.
    Try a differnt firewire port and/or lead
    Fast forward the tape a bit and try capturing from a different point on the tape.
    Defrag you hard drive

    Can you see the tape playback on the PC when you hit play and are not actually capturing?

    Can you control the camera through the firewire connection?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    I presume you shot on the same camera ? People often mix up dv and dv cam stuff - often this results in the symptoms you describe too.

  4. #4

    Default

    Thanks for your input. but... I cleaned the head, nothing changed. Yes I did shoot the footage using this Cam. I also tried a different port,nothing. I also tried capturing after forwarding the tape without success. De-fragmenting the hard-drive is not applicable, it`s brand new..(virgin).
    I cannot see anything on screen while the tape is playing...
    I even bought two new 24" screens.......... kiddin`....
    Oh, before I forget, yes i can control the Cam from the screen. It`s just when starting the transfer that the image starts pixelating, stops and give an error message that the device was disconnected.
    Thanks

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,191

    Default

    Presumably, when you play the footage back without recording then it look sok on both the camera screen and on the PC?

    Sounds like transfer problem. Could be the hard drive or firewire.

    Maybe your hard drive can't keep up with the transfer. Which disk are you capturing to. Is it your C drive? try a different physical disk if you can.

    Try a differen firewire lead. not sure this will help if you can see the footage ok when the record button is not pressed.

    Try diabling internate the anti virus to see if it helps at all.

    And lastly, it really is firewire transfer isn't it? and not USB?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    How is the image on the cam screen? - if that is breaking up then it's nearly game over - you may have recorded with dirty heads meaning that what is on the tape is full of drop outs causing hte problems capturing.

    Playing on another camera would be the next thing to try.

Similar Threads

  1. Urgent Video Transfer Problem
    By Camera_Stuff in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-29-2008, 02:41 PM
  2. JVC EverioDVD transfer problem
    By bernardknight in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-16-2007, 11:27 PM
  3. Digital transfer Problem
    By Jim Woolly in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-02-2007, 12:15 AM
  4. Digital transfer problem
    By patrick_g in forum Forum Announcements and News
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 02-07-2007, 09:54 PM
  5. ilink cable
    By mrcrow in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-13-2007, 03:06 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •